TOPIC 5: Reflection

The Open Access debate is a lot more complicated than I initially thought and spans far wider than just the education sector.

Through my interaction with others, I really began to consider the implications for developing countries. For example, Michele had pointed out the link between having free access to research papers for educational use and better employment for developing countries. If content producers are restricting people from developing countries reading their materials, they are effectively restricting them from moving onto good employment and this is true for both researchers and children in education in these countries.

However, I was excited to discover this article, published only a few days ago, which describes an online journal that encourages papers by researchers in developing countries, by for example providing extra funding.

I continued to discuss the issues for the developing world on my comment on Azim’s blog, where I also questioned how an open access peer review system would be implemented. Linking back to my last blog post, on authenticity of voice in education, I worried there could be the potential for issues here on who the ‘peers’ are in open access content.

I was pleased to see Rofini and Hannah had also discussed the music industry. It was interesting to read their views on the advantages and disadvantages of artists, especially using YouTube to upload free ‘open’ content as a platform to success. I think this is possible now more than ever as the #powerofsoccialmedia is increasing. A discussion on Rofini’s blog about the adverts on YouTube stood out to me too. I like Jodie, didn’t realise that you didn’t get paid for those adverts, so if artists put music on YouTube there’s no financial gain at all, it is just hoped that in the future this would help them in their success.

The piktochart below shows the three key ‘sectors’ which students collectively identified in the open access debate:

untitled-poster-6

From what I’ve now read, most of the debates on Open Access revolve around finance and I think for me the key point is that financially, the advantages of Open Access are not immediately obvious but it could definitely help those who cannot afford to publish their research ‘get noticed’, which will help them in the future. Mainly for that reason, I personally agree with Open Access; essentially for me the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

You can see my comments here:

https://mab4g1412.wordpress.com/2016/05/06/topic-5-an-insight-into-open-access/

https://micheleaudree.wordpress.com/2016/05/06/open-access/

 

 

One thought on “TOPIC 5: Reflection

Leave a Reply

