TOPIC 3: Reflection

This has been a really interesting topic for me because it’s one that I can relate a lot too, like Topic 2, as I approach the end of my final year of university and enter the employment world.

Most of us agreed that some form of personal branding was key to creating an authentic profile. Even though many recognised that LinkedIn was the top social employability site, many like me, also acknowledged that personal branding could be done through multiple platforms, for example Tom and Stuart.My post mentioned that the two main ways that I thought would make you stand out in the recruiting world (aside from Linkedin), were blogging and managing your social media but I also highlighted there are some dangers especially with social media. After reading through other peoples blogs, I ‘d like to add that this is obviously very different dependent on your career choice and hence the first step should be realising what this is and adapting/ specifying your ‘personal brand’ to cater to that. This was inspired by a number of blogs. For example you can see I commented here on Shriya, who talked about Lucy Cronin, a personal trainer who created a successful personal training business through gaining followers on social media. And, expanding on that, I’ve learnt that using social media is definitely more relevant to some jobs than others- the fitness world on instagram in particular, as naturally imagery works best for personal branding here . But perhaps public sector jobs such as teachers and doctors, not so much- I had a discussion with Shriya about this on her blog. Also Holly acknowledged how different social medias each contribute differently to ‘personal branding’ in a slide show, for example Twitter can be used to show interaction between employers and Facebook to show personal qualities and passions. This is something I touched upon in my comment on Kates Blog.

Collectively, I think it can be agreed that LinkedIn alone is now not enough to create an ‘authentic’ professional profile that will make you stand out to employers. If you’ve got social media, you need to use it to create your ‘brand’, specific to the career you want. Personally, I will definitely be updating my LinkedIn profile (with the help of Clayton’s SlideShare) soon as this is still clearly an important place in the online professional world but also thinking about how I can adapt my social media use to reflect a better professional profile and as I mentioned in my comment on Kate’s blog, an ‘About me’ page is very useful in summarising exactly what you want employers to see.

Comments:

https://spiceytandbz.wordpress.com/2016/03/12/build-your-brand-pave-your-way-to-professionalism/

https://thekatejudinaexperience.wordpress.com/2016/03/11/topic-3-how-facebook-can-get-you-a-job/

 

 

One thought on “TOPIC 3: Reflection

Leave a Reply

